RAB Member Benefits: 800-232-3131

RAB.com is best viewed with latest version of IE, Safari, Chrome or Firefox.

Home

Research


Political Advertising

 
Political Handbook

2014 Political Advertising Handbook for Radio Sales and Management
The Political Advertising Handbook will help you at every stage of the political advertising sales process.


  • Read it to gain a working overview of the essential concepts of political advertising.

  • Consult it to evaluate compliance with FCC and FEC requirements.

  • Use it in day-to-day dealings with political advertisers.

  • Created with special assistance from:





Other Forms and Files

 


NAB offers a number of special resources and forms covering political advertising.
Please see the links below to visit the NAB Store.

Links

Links to Political Parties' Sites

For specific information about and for each political party, please check the links below:

Constitution Party
Democratic Party
Green Party
Libertarian Party
Republican Party
Tea Party
Coffee Party

 

Links to Regulations and Advice on Political Advertising

The following sites provide insight into regulations regarding political advertising and/or clarification of those rules:

Election Assistance Commission
Federal Communications Commission Political Programming
Federal Communications Commission Electioneering Communications Database
Federal Election Commission
Federal Elections Commission - Special Notices on Political Ads and Solicitations
Statutes and Rules on Candidate Appearances & Advertising

 

Other Useful Political Sites

There are many sites offering Americans information on the upcoming elections, forums for candidates to address issues of interest groups, and the chance for citizens to sound off on issues and platforms.

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Voting Rights Act
Answers.com - United States Presidential Election, 2008
Blue Eagle Commentary (over 700 political columnists plus hundreds of other resources)
Broadcast Law Blog
Campaigns & Elections
Center for Asian Americans United for Self Empowerment
Coalition of African American Voters
Elected officials and Issues & Actions
League of Women Voters
National Association of Latino Elected & Appointed Officials (NALEO)
Pew Hispanic Center
Political Resources Online
Politics1.com
Project Vote Smart
Real Clear Politics
Rock the Vote
SCBA Political Handbook
Smart Voters
The Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies®
The Pew Forum: Religion and Politics '08
Vote411.org - Election Information You Need
Voter Information Services
Voting and Registration in the Election of 2004
Washington Post Politics
Young Democrats
Young Republican
YouTube News & Politics

Political Advertising Agencies 2014
855.315.3086  
4C Partners, LLC 4C/MM - www.4cpartnersllc.com
501 Third Street NW
Suite 201
Washington, DC 20001
202.470.4175  
 
Adelstein/Liston - www.adelsteinliston.com
1391 Pennsylvania Avenue SE Street
Suite 316
Washington, DC 20003
202.547.3322
222 W. Ontario
Suite 600
Chicago, IL 60654
312.787.3322
AKPD Message and Media - www.akpdmedia.com
1140 Connecticut Avenue NW
Suite 800
Washington, DC 20036
312.664.7500
730 N. Franklin Street
Suite 404
Chicago, IL 60654
312.664.7500
636 Avenue of the Americas
2nd Floor
New York, NY 10011
212.529.5775
11333 Moorpark Street
Suite 372
Studio City, CA 91602
818.415.9098  
Ampersand Agency - www.ampersandagency.com
1011 San Jacinto Boulevard
Austin, TX 78701
512.462.3366  
 
Anthem Media - www.anthemmedia.com
5524 Bee Caves Road
Suite B-T
Austin, TX 78746
512.542.9100
 
Arena Communications - www.winningmail.com
1780 W. Sequoia Vista Circle
Salt Lake City, UT 84104
888.592.4338
 
Black Rock Group - www.blackrockgrp.com
66 Canal Center Plaza
Suite 555
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.535.3390  
 
Blue State Digital - www.bluestatedigital.com
406 7th Street NW
3rd Floor
Washington, DC 20004
202.449.5600
101 Avenue of the Americas
12th Floor
New York, NY 10013
646.205.1155
711 Atlantic Avenue
Suite 102
Boston, MA 02111
800.290.6826
3780 Wilshire Boulevard
Suite 920
Los Angeles, CA 90010
323.406.7652  
Bottom Line Marketing - www.bottomlinemg.com
2076 Flatbush Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11234
718.377.4567  
 
BrabenderCox - www.brabendercox.com
Market Station 108 South Street
3rd Floor
Leesburg, VA 20175
703.896.5300  
1218 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
412.434.6320
Brushfire Digital - www.brushfiredigital.com
866.777.2348    
Bully Pulpit Interactive - www.bpmedia.com
1140 Connecticut Avenue NW Suite 800 Washington, DC 20036
202.331.0052  
636 Avenue of the Americas
2nd Floor
New York, NY 10011
Buying Time Media - www.buying-time.com
650 Massachusetts Avenue NW
Suite 201 Washington, DC 20001 202.965.5060  
 
Campaign Solutions - www.campaignsolutions.com
117 N. Saint Aspah Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.684.3435
1415 L Street
Suite 430
Sacramento, CA 95814
916.572.2723
13 Briarwood Road
Long Valley, NJ 07853
908.867.8001 
 
CampaignGrid - www.campaigngrid.com
400 First Street SE Second Floor Washington, DC 20003 202.544.5471    
Canal Partners Media (CPM) - www.canalpartnersmedia.com
1027 33rd Street NW
Suite 140
Washington, DC 20007
202.400.2201
25 Whitlock Place SW
Suite 200
Marietta, GA 30064
770.427.0735  
Chao Strategy Message & Media - www.chaomedia.com
Cold Spark Media - www.coldspark.com
307 Fourth Avenue
Suite 920
Pittsburgh, PA 15222
412.626.6690  
Washington Office
202.803.7492
Comm 360 - www.comm-360.com
Creative Direct LLC - www.creativedirect.net
The Reagan Building
25 E. Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219
804.204.1030  
 
Crossroads Media LLC - www.crossroadsmedia.tv
66 Canal Center Plaza
Suite 555
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.299.1760  
 
Crotty Consulting Inc. - www.crottyconsulting.com
3560 1st Avenue
Suite #11
San Diego, CA
619-291-0407  
 
Digital Turf - www.digitalturf.net 
Dixon/Davis Media Group - www.dixondavismedia.com
1028 33rd Street NW
Suite 300
Washington, DC 20007
202.265.7900  
 
Emotive - www.emotivellc.com
2800 S. Shirlington Road
Suite 901
Arlington, VA
703.379.0956  
 
Global Strategy Group - www.globalstrategygroup.com
1001 G Street NW
6th Floor
Washington, DC 20001
202.525.4125
895 Broadway
5th Floor
New York, NY 10003
212.260.8813
185 Asylum Street
16th Floor
Hartford, CT 06103
860.547.1414  
 
GMMB - www.gmmb.com
3050 K Street NW
Suite 100
Washington, DC 20007
202.338.8700
1200 Westlake Avenue, N
Suite 1005
Seattle, WA 98109
206.352.8598  
Grassroots Targeting - www.grassrootstargeting.com
707 Prince Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703-535-7590  
 
Greener and Hook - www.greenerandhook.com
901 King Street
Suite 400
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.351.9130  
 
Guidant Strategies -www.guidantstrategies.com
136 Heber Avenue
Suite 204
Park City, UT 84060
435.200.5520  
 
Harris Media LLC - www.harrismediallc.com
611 S Congress Avenue
Suite 400
Austin, TX 78704
512.900.9439  
 
Jamestown Associates - www.jamestownassociates.com
421 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
484.222.5252
5 Mapleton Road
Suite 300
Princeton, NJ 08540
609.514.7300
10 E Street SE
Washington, DC 20003
202.527.9931
5937 Jones Creek Road
Suite B
Baton Rouge, LA 70817
225.752.5159
200 West College Avenue
Suite 122
Tallahassee, FL 32301
850.443.5193

Austin, TX Office
817.565.9979
Ft. Lauderdale, FL Office
954.533.9239  
 
Jena Communications - www.jenacommunications.com
125 Stokes Avenue
Stroudsburg, PA 18360
570.746.6900
800.367.5362  
 
Liberty Concepts - www.libertyconcepts.com
119 Braintree Street
Suite #705
Boston, MA 02134
617.987.0103  
 
Main Street Communications - www.mainstreetcommunications.com
202.321.1855 – David Heller
202-285-5492 – Bob Doyle  
 
Majority Strategies - www.majoritystrategies.com
135 Professional Drive
Suite 104
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
904.567.2008  
 
Mandate Media - www.mandatemedia.com
1801 NE Multnomah Street
Portland, OR 97232
503.307.5604  
 
McCarthy Hennings Media - www.mhmediadc.com
1850 M Street NW
Suite 235
Washington, DC 20036
202.296.9070  
 
McLaughlin & Associates - www.mclaughlinonline.com
566 South Route 303
Blauvelt, NY 10913
845.365.2000
203-966-9757 (Media Buying)  
919 Price Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703-518-4445
Media Strategies and Research - www.mediastrategies.com
8999 East Vassar Avenue
Denver, CO 80231
303.989.4700  
 
Mentzer Media Services - www.mentzermedia.com
600 Fairmount Avenue
Suite 306
Towson, MD 21286
410-825-7034  
 
Message & Media, Inc. - www.messageandmedia.com
100 Albany Street
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
732.246.8291  
 
MH Media - www.mhmediaonline.com
703.969.4294    
Murphy, Turner & Associates - www.murphyturner.com
P.O. Box 296
1400 Lavaca or
P.O. Box 296
Austin, TX 78701
512.381.3180
800.439.0931  
2100 North Highway 360
Suite 1102
Grand Prairie, TX 75050
817.795.1600
800.439.0931
Novak Media - www.novakmedia.net
651 Cumberland Way
Webster, NY 14580
585.216.1000  
 
On Message, Inc. - www.onmessageinc.com
815 Slaters Lane
1st Floor
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.683.3806  
 
Political Advertising Network- www.politads.com
1629 K Street NW
Suite 300
Washington, DC 20006
202.670.5772  
 
Projects by Chi/Donahoe + Cole Duffey - www.projectsbycd2.com
Washington: 202.731.5446
Portland, ME: 207.712.6719
 
Prosper Group - www.prospergroupcorp.com
435 Main Street
Suite 250
Greenwood, IN 46143
317.886.4438
203 S. Alfred Street
Floor 1
Alexandria, VA 22314
202.618.8822  
Push Digital - www.pushdigital.com
1202 Main Street
Suite C
Columbia, SC 29201
803-250-1120  
 
Putnam Partners - www.putnampartners.net
2601 Wilson Boulevard
Suite 201
Arlington, VA 22201
703.294.4100  
 
Rainmaker Media - www.thinkrainmaker.com
One Union Square
Suite 202
Charleston, WV 25302
304.414.3371  
 
Red Horse Strategies - www.redhorsestrategies.com
55 Washington Street Suite 624 Brooklyn, NY 11201 718.260.9577    
RedRock Strategies - www.redrockstrategies.com
Nevada: 702.240.2001
Texas: 512.482.8245
Washington, DC: 202.591.0673  
 
Redwave Communications - www.redwavecommunications.com
4019 Ingersoll Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50312
515.421.4404  
 
Revolution Agency -www.revolution-agency.com
1020 Princess Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.684.1776  
 
Revolvis- www.revolvis.com
1029 K Street
Suite 44
Sacramento, CA 95814
800.916.1770
427 C Street
Suite 220
San Diego, CA 92101
603 Stewart Street
Suite 603
Seattle, WA 98101
800.916.1770  
400 First Street, SE
Suite 200
Washington, DC 20003
800.916.1770
Saber Communications - www.saberinc.net
108 Stonehouse Road
Fredericksburg, VA 22406
540.752.7077  
 
Sandler Innocenzi- www.sandler-innocenzi.com
705 Prince Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.684.0633  
 
SCM Associates - www.scmassoc.coMm
1283 Main Street
P.O. Box 254
Dublin, NH 03444
603.563.7420
800.726.4871  
 
SRCP Media - www.srcpmedia.com
201 North Union Street
Suite 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.683.8326  
 
Strategic Media Placement - www.strategicmediaplacement.com
The Gooding House
7669 Stagers Loop
Delaware, OH 43015
740.201.5510  
 
Strategic Perception - www.strategicperceptioninc.com
6158 Mulholland Highway
Hollywood, CA 90068
323.860.3043  
 
Strategy Group for Media - www.strategygroupmedia.com
7669 Stagers Loop
Delaware, OH 43015
740.201.5500  
10707 Bull Ridge Drive
Austin, TX 78759
512.338.4068
710 E. Capitol Street NE
Washington, DC 20003
202.543.5100
 
Struble Eichenbaum Communications - www.strublemedia.com
700 7th Street SE
Washington, DC 20003
202.544.2300  
 
Targeted Creative Communications - www.targetedcreative.com
106 S Columbus Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
7033.684.1987  
 
Targeted Victory - www.targetedvictory.com
1033 North Fairfax Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
877.230.3691  
 
The Advance Group - www.theadvancegroup.com
39 Broadway
Suite 1740
New York, NY 10006
212.239.7323  
 
Trilogy Interactive - www.trilogyinteractive.com
4311 N Ravenswood Avenue
Chicago, IL 60613
773.661.9127  
 
Victory Group- www.victorygroup.com
1200 W. Cass Street
Tampa, FL 33606
813.258.3438  
 
Wilson Grand Communications -www.wilsongrand.com
429 North Saint Asaph Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.739.0330
510.548.1616 (West Coast Office)  
 
WWP Strategies - www.wwpstrategies.com
P.O. Box 24215
Lansing, MI 48909
517.203.5870