RAB Member Benefits: 800-232-3131

RAB.com is best viewed with latest version of IE, Safari, Chrome or Firefox.

Home

Research

Research

Political Advertising

 
2015-2016 Political Handbook

2015-2016 Political Advertising Handbook for the Radio Account Executive


The Political Advertising Handbook will help you at every stage of the political advertising sales process.


  • Read it to gain a working overview of the essential concepts of political advertising.

  • Consult it to evaluate compliance with FCC and FEC requirements.

  • Use it in day-to-day dealings with political advertisers.

  • Created with special assistance from:

 

Radio - Gets Out the Vote

Here are slides to help you create a dialogue on why radio should be used for political campaign efforts.

Radio - Gets Out the Vote
 

Political Advertising Thought Starters

Here are some ideas to help you get started crafting your message tailored to political advertisers within your marketplace

Political
Advertising
Thought
Starters
 

Other Forms and Files

 

2015/2016 Political Calendars-
Primaries, Runoffs and Start Dates for Lowest Unit Charge (LUC)

 

NAB offers a number of special resources and forms covering political advertising. Please see the link below to visit the NAB Store.

 

Additional Resources:

 

Radio's Impact on Voters

Links

Links to Political Parties' Sites

For specific information about and for each political party, please check the links below:

Constitution Party
Democratic Party
Green Party
Libertarian Party
Republican Party
Tea Party
Coffee Party

 

Links to Regulations and Advice on Political Advertising

The following sites provide insight into regulations regarding political advertising and/or clarification of those rules:

Election Assistance Commission
Federal Communications Commission Political Programming
Federal Communications Commission Electioneering Communications Database
Federal Election Commission
Federal Elections Commission - Special Notices on Political Ads and Solicitations
Statutes and Rules on Candidate Appearances & Advertising

 

Other Useful Political Sites

There are many sites offering Americans information on the upcoming elections, forums for candidates to address issues of interest groups, and the chance for citizens to sound off on issues and platforms.

American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU) Voting Rights Act
Answers.com - United States Presidential Election, 2008
Blue Eagle Commentary (over 700 political columnists plus hundreds of other resources)
Broadcast Law Blog
Campaigns & Elections
Center for Asian Americans United for Self Empowerment
League of Women Voters
National Association of Latino Elected & Appointed Officials (NALEO)
Pew Hispanic Center
Political Resources Online
Politics1.com
Project Vote Smart
Real Clear Politics
Rock the Vote
SCBA Political Handbook
Smart Voters
The Joint Center for Political and Economic Studies®
The Pew Forum: Religion and Politics
Vote411.org - Election Information You Need
Voter Information Services
Voting and Registration in the Election of 2004
Washington Post Politics
Young Democrats
Young Republican
YouTube News & Politics

Political Advertising Agencies
4C Partners, LLC 4C/MM - www.4cpartnersllc.com
501 Third Street NW
Suite 201
Washington, DC 20001
202.470.4175  
 
Access Media Services - www.linkedin.com/pub/john-clark/37/504/708

213.236.3759
 
 
AKPD Message and Media - www.akpdmedia.com
1140 Connecticut Avenue NW
Suite 800
Washington, DC 20036
312.664.7500
730 N. Franklin Street
Suite 404
Chicago, IL 60654
312.664.7500
636 Avenue of the Americas
2nd Floor
New York, NY 10011
212.529.5775
11333 Moorpark Street
Suite 372
Studio City, CA 91602
818.415.9098  
Ampersand Agency - www.ampersandagency.com
1011 San Jacinto Boulevard
Austin, TX 78701
512.462.3366  
 
Anthem Media - www.anthemmedia.com
5524 Bee Caves Road
Suite B-T
Austin, TX 78746
512.542.9100
 
Arena Communications - arenacomm.com
1780 W. Sequoia Vista Circle
Salt Lake City, UT 84104
801.595.8339
 
Beacon IT Services, LLC - Email: Info@SegmentedMedia.com
601 13th Street NW
Washington, DC 20005
202.640.4417
 
Black Rock Group - www.blackrockgrp.com
66 Canal Center Plaza
Suite 555
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.535.3390  
 
Blue State Digital - www.bluestatedigital.com
406 7th Street NW
3rd Floor
Washington, DC 20004
202.449.5600
101 Avenue of the Americas
12th Floor
New York, NY 10013
646.205.1155
711 Atlantic Avenue
Suite 102
Boston, MA 02111
800.290.6826
3780 Wilshire Boulevard
Suite 920
Los Angeles, CA 90010
323.406.7652  
Bottom Line Marketing - www.bottomlinemg.com
2076 Flatbush Avenue
Brooklyn, NY 11234
718.377.4567  
 
BrabenderCox - www.brabendercox.com
Market Station 108 South Street
3rd Floor
Leesburg, VA 20175
703.896.5300  
1218 Grandview Avenue
Pittsburgh, PA 15211
412.434.6320
Brushfire Digital - www.brushfiredigital.com
310 New Hampshire Street
Orlando, FL 32804
866.777.2348  
 
Bully Pulpit Interactive www.bpimedia.com
1140 Connecticut Avenue NW, Suite 800
Washington, DC 20036
202.331.0052  
Buying Time Media - www.buying-time.com
650 Massachusetts Avenue NW, Suite 201
Washington, DC 20001
202.965.5060  
 
Campaign Solutions - www.campaignsolutions.com
117 N. Saint Aspah Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.684.3435
1415 L Street
Suite 430
Sacramento, CA 95814
916.572.2723
13 Briarwood Road
Long Valley, NJ 07853
908.867.8001 
 
Canal Partners Media (CPM) - www.canalpartnersmedia.com
1027 33rd Street NW
Suite 140
Washington, DC 20007
202.400.2201
 
Comm 360 - www.comm-360.com
57 Waddell Street
Marietta, GA 30060
770.635.7401
Creative Direct LLC - www.creativedirect.net
The Reagan Building
25 E. Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219
804.204.1030  
 
Crossroads Media LLC - www.crossroadsmedia.tv
66 Canal Center Plaza
Suite 555
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.299.1760  
 
Crotty Consulting Inc. - www.crottyconsulting.com
3560 1st Avenue
Suite #11
San Diego, CA
619-291-0407  
 
Dixon/Davis Media Group - www.dixondavismedia.com
1028 33rd Street NW
Suite 300
Washington, DC 20007
202.265.7900  
 
Donald J. Trump for President - www.donaldjtrump.com
725 Fifth Avenue
New York, NY 10022
646.736.1779  
 
Field Works - fieldworks.com
P.O. Box 9897
Washington, DC 20016
202.667.4400  
 
GBA Strategies - /www.gbastrategies.com/
1901 L Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
202.621.1411  
 
Global Strategy Group - www.globalstrategygroup.com
1001 G Street NW
6th Floor
Washington, DC 20001
202.525.4125
895 Broadway
5th Floor
New York, NY 10003
212.260.8813
185 Asylum Street
16th Floor
Hartford, CT 06103
860.547.1414  
190 West Santa Fe Street
Pomona, CA 91767
909.973.5567  
Grassroots Targeting - www.grassrootstargeting.com
707 Prince Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703-535-7590  
 
Greener and Hook - www.greenerandhook.com
901 King Street
Suite 400
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.351.9130  
 
Harris Media LLC - www.harrismediallc.com
611 S Congress Avenue
Suite 400
Austin, TX 78704
512.900.9439  
 
Hillary for America - www.hillaryclinton.com
P.O. Box 5256
New York, NY 10185-5256
646.854.1432  
 
Jamestown Associates - www.jamestownassociates.com
421 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19106
484.222.5252
5 Mapleton Road
Suite 300
Princeton, NJ 08540
609.514.7300
10 E Street SE
Washington, DC 20003
202.527.9931
5937 Jones Creek Road
Suite B
Baton Rouge, LA 70817
225.752.5159
200 West College Avenue
Suite 122
Tallahassee, FL 32301
850.443.5193

Liberty Concepts - www.libertyconcepts.com
119 Braintree Street
Suite #705
Boston, MA 02134
617.987.0103  
 
Main Street Communications - www.mainstreetcommunications.com
221 Third Street SE
Washington, DC 20003
202-321-1855
1300 NW 94th Street
Miami Shores, FL 33138
 
 
Majority Strategies - www.majoritystrategies.com
135 Professional Drive
Suite 104
Ponte Vedra Beach, FL 32082
904.567.2008  
 
Marco Rubio for President - www.marcorubio.com
P.O. Box 55870
Miami, FL 33255  
 
McCarthy Hennings Media - www.mhmediadc.com
1850 M Street NW
Suite 235
Washington, DC 20036
202.296.9070  
 
McLaughlin & Associates - www.mclaughlinonline.com
566 South Route 303
Blauvelt, NY 10913
845.365.2000
203-966-9757 (Media Buying)  
919 Price Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703-518-4445
Media Strategies and Research - www.mediastrategies.com
8999 East Vassar Avenue
Denver, CO 80231
303.989.4700  
 
Mentzer Media Services - www.mentzermedia.com
600 Fairmount Avenue
Suite 306
Towson, MD 21286
410-825-7034  
 
Message & Media, Inc. - www.messageandmedia.com
100 Albany Street
New Brunswick, NJ 08901
732.246.8291  
 
MH Media - www.mhmediaonline.com
804 Norfolk Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814
703.969.4294  
 
Murphy, Turner & Associates - www.murphyturner.com
P.O. Box 296
1400 Lavaca or
P.O. Box 296
Austin, TX 78701
512.381.3180
800.439.0931  
2100 North Highway 360
Suite 1102
Grand Prairie, TX 75050
800.439.0931
Novak Media - www.novakmedia.net
651 Cumberland Way
Webster, NY 14580
585.216.1000  
 
Priorities USA Action - www.prioritiesusaaction.org
1718 M Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
202.728.7780  
 
Projects by Chi/Donahoe + Cole Duffey - www.projectsbycd2.com
2101 16th St. NW
Washington, DC 20009
202.731.5446
 
Prosper Group - prospergroupcorp.com
435 Main Street
Suite 250
Greenwood, IN 46143
317.886.4438
203 S. Alfred Street
Floor 1
Alexandria, VA 22314
202.618.8822  
Push Digital - www.pushdigital.com
1202 Main Street
Suite C
Columbia, SC 29201
803-250-1120  
 
Putnam Partners - www.putnampartners.net
2601 Wilson Boulevard
Suite 201
Arlington, VA 22201
703.294.4100  
 
Rainmaker Media - www.thinkrainmaker.com
One Union Square
Suite 202
Charleston, WV 25302
304.414.3371  
 
Red Horse Strategies - redhorsestrategies.com
55 Washington Street, Suite 624
Brooklyn, NY 11201
718.260.9577  
 
RedRock Strategies - redrockstrategies.com
Nevada: 702.240.2001
Texas: 512.482.8245
Washington, DC: 202.591.0673  
 
Redwave Communications - www.redwavecommunications.com
4019 Ingersoll Avenue
Des Moines, IA 50312
515.421.4404  
 
Revolution Agency -www.revolution-agency.com
1020 Princess Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.684.1776  
 
Revolvis- www.revolvis.com
1029 K Street
Suite 44
Sacramento, CA 95814
800.916.1770
427 C Street
Suite 220
San Diego, CA 92101
603 Stewart Street
Suite 603
Seattle, WA 98101
800.916.1770  
400 First Street, SE
Suite 200
Washington, DC 20003
800.916.1770
Saber Communications - www.saberinc.net
101 Washington Street
Falmouth, VA 22405
540.371.7077 
 
Sandler Innocenzi- www.sandler-innocenzi.com
705 Prince Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.684.0633  
 
SCM Associates - www.scmassoc.com
1283 Main Street
P.O. Box 254
Dublin, NH 03444
603.563.7420  
 
SKDKnickerbocker - www.skdknick.com
1150 18th Street NW
Washington, DC 20036
202.464.6900
594 Broadway
New York, NY 10012
212.561.8730
Smart Media Group - smartmediagroup.com/
1427 Leslie Avenue
Alexandria, VA 22301
703.518.4747  
 
Something Else Strategies - www.somethingelsestrategies.com
1427 Leslie Avenue
Alexandria, VA 22301
703.518.4747  
 
SRCP Media - www.srcpmedia.com
201 North Union Street
Suite 200
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.683.8326  
 
Strategic Media Placement - strategicmediaplacement.com
The Gooding House
7669 Stagers Loop
Delaware, OH 43015
740.201.5510  
 
Strategic Perception - www.strategicperceptioninc.com
6158 Mulholland Highway
Hollywood, CA 90068
323.860.3043  
 
Strategy Group for Media - strategygroupmedia.com
7669 Stagers Loop
Delaware, OH 43015
740.201.5500  
10707 Bull Ridge Drive
Austin, TX 78759
512.338.4068
710 E. Capitol Street NE
Washington, DC 20003
202.543.5100
 
Struble Eichenbaum Communications - strublemedia.com
700 7th Street SE
Washington, DC 20003
202.544.2300  
 
Target Enterprises - www.targetla.com
15260 Ventura Boulevard
Sherman Oaks, CA 91403
818.905.0005  
 
Targeted Creative Communications - www.targetedcreative.com
106 S Columbus Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
7033.684.1987  
 
Targeted Victory - www.targetedvictory.com
1033 North Fairfax Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
877.230.3691  
 
The Advance Group - www.theadvancegroup.com
39 Broadway
Suite 1740
New York, NY 10006
212.239.7323  
 
The Pivot Group - www.thepivot.com
1720 I Street NW
Washington, DC 20006
202-478-7900  
 
Trilogy Interactive - trilogyinteractive.com
4311 N Ravenswood Avenue
Chicago, IL 60613
773.661.9127  
 
Victory Group- victorygroup.com
1200 W. Cass Street
Tampa, FL 33606
813.258.3438  
 
Wilson Grand Communications -wilsongrand.com
429 North Saint Asaph Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
703.739.0330
510.548.1616 (West Coast Office)  
 
WWP Strategies - wwpstrategies.com
P.O. Box 24215
Lansing, MI 48909
517.203.5870  
 

 

Political In the News

Headlines View
Why Radio is a Bigger Factor in 2016 Campaign 

View
Campaigns turn to a cheaper medium to get voters' ears: Radio  

View
Power to the people: Connecting with political millennials through music  

View
Radio Trumps all other media for campaign's first ad buy; Cruz also on Radio's bandwagon  

View
Morning commute: Reaching voters with more than just talk radio  

View
Radio an effective way to influence swing voters  

View
Political Advertising Message Thought Starters 

View
RAB Technical Support Team Tom Barnhardt 817-715-5248 From: Casper, Dave Sent: Thursday, November 19, 2015 1:42 PM To: Barnhardt, Tom Cc: Hetherington, Jean Subject: File Restore Hi Tom: I need RABCOM\Public\Political\political.cfm restored on the RAB.com server. Can you help us with that? ETA? Dave Casper | SVP Services | Radio Advertising Bureau 1320 Greenway Drive Suite #500, Irving, TX 75038 o: 972.753.6760 | m: 214.507.5655 email: dcasper@rab.com