2019 Rising Through the Ranks Scholarship Recipients Announced

Scholarship recipients for this year’s Rising Through the Ranks program, presented by Radio Advertising Bureau, BMI, and Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio (MIW), have been selected. Below is the list of twenty-nine individuals attending this year’s seminar August 13-15 at the BMI Nashville office. This year’s course will focus primarily on management and sales techniques including problem solving, recruiting, difficult conversations, hiring and firing, personal brand building and the role of today’s radio manager.

Featured speakers include: Hartley Adkins, president, integrated revenue strategy, iHeartMedia, Inc; Georgia Beasley, manager, professional development, RAB; Joe D'Angelo, senior vice president, broadcast radio, Xperi Inc. DTS/HD Radio; Erica Farber, president and chief executive officer, RAB; Kim Guthrie, president, Cox Media Group; Bill Hendrich, executive vice president, Cox Media Group; Amy Hughes, director of sales, Entercom Memphis; Laurie Kahn, founder/chief multi-tasker, Media Staffing Network; Susan Larkin, regional vice president, Entercom; Denyse Mesnik, president, The Mesnik Group/MIW Executive Committee; Val Maki, president and chief operating officer, Brandovation; Jennifer Morelli, senior vice president, live events & experiences, Entercom; Ginny Morris, chairperson and chief executive officer, Hubbard Radio; Beth Neuhoff, chief executive officer, Neuhoff Media; Dan Spears, vice president, industry relations, BMI; and Erika Sylvia, controller, Emmis Communications.

2019 Scholarship Recipients

Luisa Banks

Cox Media Group, Atlanta, GA


Jill Bernhardt

Cumulus Media, Atlanta, GA


Taylor Brown

Neuhoff Media, Springfield, IL


Alexandra Byrnes

Entercom Communications, Sacramento, CA


Yvonne Cheng

iHeartMedia, Washington D.C.


Tiffany Davison

Katz Media Group, New York, NY


Katy Dempsey

Bryan Broadcasting, College Station, TX


Adella Fremstad-Nolden

Radio One, Dallas, TX


Jaime Guglielmi

Beasley Media Group, Philadelphia, PA


Pamela Hall,

Kindred Communications, Huntington, WV


Andrea Hansen

Entercom Communications, Madison, WI


Nichole Hansen

Spencer Radio Group / SAGA Communications, Spencer, IA


Traci Harris-Mason

Forcht Broadcasting, Hopkinsville, KY


Dara Kalvort

Entercom Communications, Miami, FL


Tori Kahl

iHeartMedia, New Orleans, LA


Shannon Kenefick

Townsquare Media, Danbury, CT


Adria Lawrence

Emmis Communications, Austin, TX


Kate Maguire

Summit Media, Omaha, NE


Elizabeth Nifong

Beasley Media Group, Charlotte, NC


Debbie Payne

Cumulus Media, Los Angeles, CA


Katherine Pfahl

Radio One, Washington D.C.


Kristina Schoenbeck

Entercom Communications, New York, NY


Crista St. John

Bonneville International/Mariners Radio- Seattle, WA


Ava Suppelsa

BMI, Nashville, TN


Brianne Thompson

Leighton Broadcasting, Thompson, ND


Denise Tolzman

Queen B Radio, Platteville, WI


Dianna Towns

Neuhoff Media, Ludlow, MA


Ashley Williams

Cox Media Group, Orlando, FL

About RAB
The Radio Advertising Bureau is the not-for-profit trade association representing America's broadcast radio industry. Its primary objective is to drive revenue growth through advocacy, providing the tools and resources to help the industry attract new sales talent to the medium and enhance industry professionalism through training and support. The RAB serves more than 6,000 member stations in the U.S. and more than 1,000 member networks, representative firms, broadcast vendors, and international organizations. Learn more at www.rab.com.

Media Contacts: