logo P R E S S    R E L E A S E

2013 Radio Mercury Awards Winners Announced

Barton F. Graf 9000 LLC Wins Best of Show for Ragu/Unilever
New York, NY – June 5, 2013 – Winners for the 2013 Radio Mercury Awards were announced this evening at the 22nd annual awards reception at the Highline Ballroom. This year’s Best of Show Award was given to Barton F. Graf 9000 LLC for their radio campaign, “A Long Day of Childhood” for Ragu / Unilever.

“The work from Barton F. Graf 9000 was the standout radio creative, especially the Ragu campaign, and the Integrated Little Caesars campaign” said Bill Cimino, chief creative officer, Y&R Midwest, and chief judge for this year’s Radio Mercury Awards. “Each of these campaigns told a true and believable story. These were inspired creative executions that deserve every bit of praise they receive.”

“All of tonight’s winners epitomize the level and standard of excellence that we always hope to award at the Radio Mercury Awards,” said Erica Farber, President and CEO, Radio Advertising Bureau. “These winning spots and campaigns are true testaments to radio’s ability to engage consumers, build brands and inspire the next generation of creative minds.”

This year’s Radio Marketer of the Year Award was presented to Target. Melissa Schoenke, Target’s Director of Media Strategy, accepted the award on their behalf. Over the past several years, Target’s media agency – Haworth Marketing + Media – has driven creative new ways to effectively use the medium across multiple platforms. Target and Haworth’s partnership with radio spans local connections to national outreach via broadcast, digital, social media, live events, personality and artist integration, and most recently the launch of Justin Timberlake’s blockbuster 20/20 Experience album release.

The energetic and lively ceremony was hosted by syndicated On-Air personality, Ellen K, co-host of On-Air with Ryan Seacrest, and included presenters Cipha Sounds, Peter Rosenberg and K-Foxx from Emmis Communication’s Hot 97 Morning Show, Ty Bentli, from CBS Radio’s NOW 92.3’s and Madelyn Rodriguez from Univision Radio Network. iHeartRadio artist, DJ Reidiculous served as the guest DJ for the night.

In attendance were numerous leaders from the creative and advertising community including the aforementioned Bill Cimino, Y&R Mid-West; Gerry Graf, Barton F. Graf 9000, LLC; Matt Eastwood, DDB NY; Rob Feakins, Publicis NY; Cecilia Bizon, Starcom; Tracy Shepard-Rashkin, and Phyllis Joseph, Unilever; Natalie Swed-Stone, OMD; Melissa Schoenke, Christy Charbonneau, and Travis Christie, Target; Brittney Ragowski, Haworth Marketing + Media; Final Round Radio Mercury Award Judges, Mike Sullivan, DDB NY and Jim Elliott, Y&R NY. Also in attendance were creative teams from Barton F. Graf 9000 LLC, DDB Chicago, DDB NY, and Y&R New York.

This year’s event was produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau, presented by Clear Channel Media + Entertainment, and sponsored by Arbitron, Inc., Beasley Broadcast Group, Bonneville International, Buckley Broadcasting, CBS Radio, Cox Radio Group, The Cromwell Group, Curtis Media, Dial Global, Eastlan Ratings, Emmis Communications, Entercom Communications, Greater Media, Inc., Hubbard Radio, Katz Radio Group, Marketron, Qantum Communications, United Stations Radio Network, Univision Radio and WBEB.

Below is a list of the winning spots. To listen to all of the work awarded at tonight’s ceremony log onto www.radiomercuryawards.com.

2013 Radio Mercury Awards Winners:

$50,000 Prize Best of Show
A Long Day of Childhood
Ragu / Unilever
Barton F. Graf 9000 LLC

$6,000 Prize Agency / Production
Mars – Milky Way
DDB Chicago

$3,000 Prize Agency / Production
Target Grocery

$6,000 Prize Integrated Radio Campaign
Do Not Call
Little Caesars
Barton F. Graf 9000 LLC

$3,000 Prize Public Service Announcement
My Country
Moms Demand Action for Gun Sense in America
Y&R New York

$6,000 Prize Radio Campaign
I’m Sorry
Mars – Milky Way
DDB Chicago

$3,000 Prize Radio Campaign
Sleep Line
Zzzquil / P&G
Publicis New York

$6,000 Prize Radio Station Produced
Clear Channel Creative Services Group

$6,000 Prize Spanish Language
Feliz Navidad Mas Larga
JWT San Juan

$3,000 Prize Student Produced
Something Different
Botot Toothpaste
VCU Brandcenter

About the Radio Mercury Awards

The Radio Mercury Awards, the only competition exclusively devoted to radio, was established in 1992 to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative radio commercials. The annual Radio Mercury Awards competition draws entries from advertising agencies, production houses, radio stations, and educational institutions across the country. Approximately 17,500 commercials have competed for over $3 million in prizes. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), a non-profit corporation funded by the radio industry, governs the Radio Mercury Awards. The Radio Advertising Bureau produces the Radio Mercury Awards.

Media Contact:
Meghan Buonocore