logo P R E S S    R E L E A S E

Radio Mercury Awards Announces Matt Eastwood, Chief Creative Officer, DDB NY as the 2014 Chief Judge for the Radio Mercury Awards

Call for Entry Officially Open for Submissions

New Spanish Language Campaign; Showcase Awards for Radio Promotion of the Year and Innovative Use of Radio
New York, New York – December 9, 2013 – The Radio Mercury Awards is pleased to announce Matt Eastwood, chief creative officer, DDB NY as Chief Judge for the 23rd annual awards competition. 2014 Call for Entry is now open; entries are being accepted for outstanding creative spots and campaigns from advertising agencies, radio stations, production companies, colleges, universities and advertisers.

New to this year’s competition is the $6,000 Spanish Language Campaign Award, along with two Showcase Awards.  The first, Radio Promotion of the Year, will award a creative radio promotion that leveraged radio’s assets to drive results for an advertiser, radio station/network event or programming initiative. Secondly, the Innovative Use of Radio Showcase Award will recognize an agency, advertiser or radio station/network that used radio in a unique, highly creative way that could be considered ahead-of-the-curve, non-traditional, and even revolutionary.  The Innovative Use of Radio Showcase Award will also be open to international entries.

Matt Eastwood’s career has spanned numerous agencies, specialties and countries, including Australia, the UK and US. Having spent three years at DDB earlier in his career, Matt rejoined DDB Australia in 2006 as National Creative Director and Vice Chairman. He then joined DDB New York in 2010 as Chief Creative Officer. During his seven-year career with DDB, the agency has been named Campaign Brief Agency of the Year, Australian Creative Hotshot, Adnews Agency of the Year, B&T Agency of the Year, Spikes Network of the Year, and Campaign magazine Network of the Year. DDB New York is currently Creativity Magazine's "Agency to Watch". Most recently, Matt was just named the 5th most awarded Chief Creative Officer worldwide in AdAge’s annual Awards Report.”

Matt Eastwood has overseen some of the most innovative and recognizable creative projects in advertising today. Before DDB, he was chief creative officer of Young & Rubicam's New York office.  Earlier in his career, Eastwood was chairman and executive creative director at the New York office of M&C Saatchi. His client experience ranges from British Airways, Clorox and Danone to McDonald's, Xerox, Unilever, Volkswagen and Wrigley's.

“I am so thrilled to serve as the chair for this year’s Radio Mercury Awards. With all the new forms of media out there today, radio creative is still the most challenging and truly the best writer’s medium in which to challenge yourself,” noted Eastwood.  “What’s more exciting is that radio now has all these new platforms, so the ideas and opportunities are endless. The awards continue to fuel the passion of agency creatives to take the medium beyond the average spot commercial, but still recognize the beauty and elegance of a well-crafted, creatively written spot.”
“We’re so privileged to have Matt Eastwood as this year’s Chief Judge for the Radio Mercury Awards,” noted Erica Farber, president and CEO of the Radio Advertising Bureau and chair of the Radio Creative Fund. “Matt has a true appetite for exceptionally creative radio and has shown a commitment to transport the medium to new levels of excellence.”

Thirteen prizes will be awarded in the following categories: Agency Production Single, Radio Station Produced Single, Student Produced Single, Public Service Announcement, Spanish Language Single, Radio Campaign, Spanish Language Campaign, Integrated Campaign with Radio, Innovative Use of Radio, and Radio Promotion of the Year, along with the $50,000 Best of Show. The deadline for this year’s call for entry is Tuesday, April 1, 2014.  This year’s awards ceremony will take place on Wednesday, June 4 in New York City.  For more information regarding rules, guidelines, entry fees, and entry deadlines, log onto www.radiomercuryawards.com. 

About the Radio Mercury Awards
The Radio Mercury Awards, the only competition exclusively devoted to radio, was established in 1992 to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative radio commercials. The annual Radio Mercury Awards competition draws entries from advertising agencies, production houses, radio stations, and educational institutions across the country. Approximately 17,500 commercials have competed for over $3.1 million in prizes. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), a non-profit corporation funded by the radio industry, governs the Radio Mercury Awards.  The Radio Advertising Bureau produces the Radio Mercury Awards.

Media Contact:
Meghan Buonocore