logo P R E S S    R E L E A S E

Radio Mercury Awards Announces Final Round Judging Panel
New York, New York – February 13, 2014 – The Radio Mercury Awards announced the final round judging panel for the 23rd Annual Radio Mercury Awards today. This year’s panel of top level agency creative leaders represents radio’s top advertising categories including automotive, communications, financial services, packaged goods, OTC, retail, spirits, and quick serve restaurants.  

The jury drawn together with the help of Chief Judge Matt Eastwood, chief creative officer, DDB NY, encompasses leaders from across the country, across all sized markets and diverse audiences for some of radio’s top spending advertising clients.

Listed below is the 2014 Radio Mercury Awards Final Round Judging Panel:

Jill Applebaum, group creative director, JWT NY
(select clients include: TYLENOL, Nestle Tollhouse, and Oreo)

Chris Beresford- Hill, executive creative director, BBDO NY (select clients include: Foot Locker, Guinness, Red Stripe, and FedEx)

Wayne Best, founder, COG NYC
(select clients include: ESPN, Virgin Mobile, JetBlue, Coca-Cola)

Pablo Buffagni, chief creative officer, Grupo Gallegos
(select clients include: Clorox, Energizer, JCPenney, and Comcast)

Jim Elliott, chief creative officer, Y&R NY
(select clients include: Land Rover, Virgin Atlantic, and Dell)

Mark Gross, executive vice president / executive creative director, DDB Chicago (select clients include: Anheuser-Busch, Mars/Wrigley and McDonald’s)

Joe Johnson, executive creative director, Publicis, NY
(select clients include: Vicks, Pepto, Champion, Nestle, and Ferrero Rocher)

Kerry Keenan, chief creative officer, Deutsch NY (select clients include: Direct TV, M&M’s, Outback Steakhouse, and Johnson & Johnson)

To learn more about this year’s judges click here.

“This list of final round judges is a ‘who’s who’ of well-established creative executives, and perennial award-winning agencies with a long history of creating exceptional, noteworthy creative executions”, noted Matt Eastwood. “More importantly, our panel consists of brilliant thought leaders who have a true love and appreciation for the greatest writer’s medium of all time, radio.”

“We feel so incredibly privileged to have gathered such a pinnacle group of creative ambassadors for this year’s competition.” said Erica Farber, President and CEO of the Radio Advertising Bureau and Chair of the Radio Creative Fund. “The bar has been set high, but I’m confident that this group will help ensure the mission of the Radio Mercury Awards lives on in 2014 as we award the best creative audio commercials over the past year.”

The 2014 Call for Entry is open for submissions, with a deadline of April 1, 2014. This year’s awards event will take place in New York at Le Poisson Rouge on June 4. Prizes will be awarded in the Agency Production, Radio Station Produced, Student, PSA, Spanish Language, Campaign, Innovation, Integrated Campaign, and Best of Show. For more information on the Radio Mercury Awards, log onto www.radiomercuryawards.com.

About the Radio Mercury Awards

The Radio Mercury Awards, the only competition exclusively devoted to radio, was established in 1992 to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative radio commercials. The annual Radio Mercury Awards competition draws entries from advertising agencies, production houses, radio stations, and educational institutions across the country. Approximately 17,500 commercials have competed for over $3.1 million in prizes. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), a non-profit corporation funded by the radio industry, governs the Radio Mercury Awards.  The Radio Advertising Bureau produces the Radio Mercury Awards.

Media Contact:

Meghan Buonocore