logo P R E S S    R E L E A S E

2015 Radio Mercury Awards Winners Announced

Wieden+Kennedy Wins Best of Show

SUBWAY Awarded Marketer of the Year
New York, NY -- June 3, 2015 -- Winners for the 2015 Radio Mercury Awards were announced this evening at the 24th annual awards reception at le Poisson Rouge in New York. This year's $50,000 Best of Show award was presented to Wieden+Kennedy for their "Mandroid" Campaign for Old Spice.  

"The 2015 winners all exemplify our mission of recognizing and rewarding the best creative storytellers who engage consumers, help build brands, and keep the spirit of creative radio writing alive," said Erica Farber, president and CEO, Radio Advertising Bureau and chair of the Radio Creative Fund. "'Mandroid' and all of this year's winners were inspiring and creative, and continue to meet and exceed the high bar that we set."
(L-R) RAB President and CEO, Erica Farber, Best of Show Winners, Jason Kreher and Anibal Casso, from Wieden + Kennedy with Global Chief Creative Officer, Arnold Worldwide, and Chief Judge, Jim Elliott

"'Mandroid' was above and beyond the most captivating and creative campaign we heard," noted Jim Elliott, global chief creative officer, Arnold Worldwide, and this year’s chief judge. "This year’s winners are great examples of truly original and effective radio creative spots and campaigns."

While presenting the Best of Show Award, chief judge Jim Elliott also commented on the Best Promotional Use of Radio category. "This year, the final round judges and I heard several contenders in the Best Promotional Use of Radio category, but no clear winner, and after much consideration, we made the decision not to give an award in the category," noted Jim Elliott. "However, what struck us most in both the Promotional and Most Innovative Use of Radio categories was an emerging use of new technologies, technology, along with social media and other channels, to reach and strengthen the connection with their listeners."

With Jim Elliott's guidance, moving forward the Radio Mercury Awards will now fold these two categories into one new Award, "Most Innovative Use of Audio," to recognize forward thinking, innovative, tech-based applications and promotions that harness the power of audio.  The new award will be an opportunity to showcase the biggest audio ideas and technological advances coming from the radio and ad worlds. 

This year's Marketer of the Year Award was presented to SUBWAY. Drew Horowitz, president and chief operating officer of Hubbard Radio presented this year's award to Tony Pace, chief marketing officer from SUBWAY. Erica Farber noted that "As a leading radio advertiser in 2014 and the world’s largest submarine sandwich chain, with close to Forty-Four Thousand locations in 110 countries, SUBWAY is at its heart a national brand and business that acts locally in creative and impactful ways. They consistently leverage radio, both creatively and contextually, and SUBWAY’s media spend demonstrates their core belief in the power of radio to drive their business forward."
Chief Marketing Officer, Subway, Tony Pace with President and Chief Operating Officer, Drew Horowitz, Hubbard Radio

The lively ceremony was hosted by Jubal and Brooke from Hubbard Radio’s MOVIN' 92.5 FM in Seattle and included the following presenters: Kelly Ford, NASH FM 94.7 NY/Westwood One; Megan Ryte, HOT 97 NY/Emmis; Shoboy & Nina, The New 92.3 AM Radio/CBS NY; Bronson & Christine, 106.7 LITE FM/iHeartMedia NY. DJ Whutevva from iHeartMedia's Power 105.1 NY served as the guest DJ for the night.

In attendance were numerous leaders from the creative and advertising community including the aforementioned Jim Elliott, Arnold Worldwide; Tony Pace, Dennis Gaynor and Karie Ford from SUBWAY; Rachel Falco, Tom Rocco, Kim Babcock, Taylor Wood from Mediacom; Katrina McDonald, Unilever; Hartley Adkins, Clay Hunnicutt and Tom Poleman, iHeartMedia, Inc.; Natalie Swed Stone, OMD; Chris Beresford-Hill, BBDO. Also in attendance were creative teams from Alma DDB, BBDO NY, DDB Chicago, Leo Burnett, The Richards Group, Tracy Locke, Wieden+Kennedy, and Y&R New York.

This year's event was produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau, presented by Hubbard Radio in partnership with iHeartMedia Inc., and sponsored by: Alpha Media, Beasley Broadcast Group, Bonneville International, Buckley Broadcasting, CBS Radio, Connoisseur Media, Cox Radio Group, Emmis Communications, Entercom Communications, Greater Media, Inc., Katz Radio Group, Lincoln Financial Media, Marketron, Miller Kaplan Arase LLP, MoreFM Philadelphia, Nielsen Audio, Neuhoff Communications, Salem Communications, Townsquare Media, vCreative, United Stations Radio Network, and WestwoodOne.

Below is a list of the winning spots. To listen to all of the work awarded at tonight’s ceremony log onto www.radiomercuryawards.com.   

$50,000 Best of Show
Old Spice   

$5,000 Agency/Production Company
Mandroid - Women
Old Spice   

$1,500 Agency/Production Company
Morse Code
Mars, Inc. / Juicy Fruit
DDB Chicago

$1,500 Agency/Production Company

Two Head Ed
Mars, Inc. / Skittles
DDB Chicago

$1,500 Agency/Production Company
Know My Voice

$1,500 Agency/Production Company

Old Spice   

$3,000 Integrated Radio Campaign
Mayhem's All-Time Greatest Hits
Leo Burnett Chicago

$1,500 Innovative Use of Radio Showcase
K9FM Radio
Mars / Pedigree
Colenso BBDO

$3,000 PSA
Keep Farts Funny
Meredith's Miracles Colon Cancer Foundation
FCB Chicago

$5,000 Radio Campaign
Old Spice
Wieden + Kennedy

$1,500 Radio Campaign
Chicago Mayhem
Leo Burnett Chicago

$1,500 Radio Campaign
2014 Radio Campaign
Motel 6
The Richards Group

$5,000 Radio Station Produced
4G Roadtrip
Superior Chevrolet
iHeartMedia Creative Services Group

$3,000 Spanish Language Campaign
Liquid Plumr / Clorox
Alma DDB

$1,500 Student
VCU Brandcenter

Marketer of the Year

About the Radio Mercury Awards

The Radio Mercury Awards, the only competition exclusively devoted to radio, was established in 1992 to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative radio commercials. The annual Radio Mercury Awards competition draws entries from advertising agencies, production houses, radio stations, and educational institutions across the country. Approximately 17,500 commercials have competed for over $3.1 million in prizes. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), and non-profit corporation funded by the radio industry, governs the Radio Mercury Awards. The Radio Advertising Bureau produces the Radio Mercury Awards.

Media Contact:
Meghan Buonocore