logo P R E S S    R E L E A S E

Radio Mercury Awards Announces Final Round Judging Panel
New York, New York – February 16, 2017 -- The Radio Mercury Awards announced the final round judging panel for the 26th Annual Radio Mercury Awards today. This year's panel of top-level agency creative leaders represents radio's top advertising categories including automotive, communications, financial services, packaged goods, OTC, retail, spirits, and quick serve restaurants.  

The jury, drawn together with the help of Chief Judge Mark Gross, founder and creative director, Highdive Advertising, comprises thought leaders from across the country, representing all size markets and diverse audiences for some of radio's top spending advertising clients.

Listed below is the 2017 Radio Mercury Awards Final Round Judging Panel:

  • Wade Alger, executive creative director, TBWAChiatDay, New York  - clients include, McDonalds, Michelin, and Nissan
  • Chris Beresford-Hill, executive creative director, executive vice president, BBDO NY – clients, include Foot Locker, Guinness and Priceline.com
  • Sean Bryan, co-chief creative officer, McCann NY  - clients include, Lockheed Martin and Microsoft
  • Bill Cimino, executive vice president, chief creative officer,  McCann Detroit – clients include, General Motors, Chevrolet and Ameriprise
  • Gustavo Lauria, co-founder and chief creative officer, We Believers - clients include, Volvo, Saltwater Brewery, and Powerful Yogurt
  • Paula Maki, managing creative director, mono San Francisco- clients include, Target, Propel, The North Face, Google, and Firefox
  • Jorge Murillo, vice president/ executive creative director, Alma DDB – clients include,  Sprint, Clorox and Tobacco Free Florida
  • Andres Ordonez, chief creative officer, Energy BBDO – clients include, Wrigley, Pearle Vision, Kerrygold and Bayer

To learn more about this year's judges click here.

"This list of final round judges represents a wide range of creative thought leaders from across the country from continuous award-winning agencies," noted Mark Gross. "These exceptional creatives have a passion and appreciation for radio writing, and truly believe that anything is possible on the radio. I look forward to gathering in May to hear the submissions and determine who went above and beyond the possibilities."

"This is a tremendous list of creative minds for this year's competition," said Erica Farber, president and CEO of the Radio Advertising Bureau and Chair of the Radio Creative Fund. "I have no doubt this group will help ensure that those awarded in this year’s competition will be the best of the best having created the unimaginable, imaginable."

The Radio Mercury Awards will announce the total number of awards to be given out when the 2017 Finalists are announced in early May. Winners will be announced at the 2017 Radio Mercury Awards event on June 1 at Stage 48 in New York.

For more information regarding entry guidelines, category descriptions, entry fees, and deadlines please log onto www.radiomercuryawards.com.

About the Radio Mercury Awards
The Radio Mercury Awards, the only competition exclusively devoted to radio, was established in 1992 to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative radio commercials. The annual Radio Mercury Awards competition draws entries from advertising agencies, production houses, radio stations, and educational institutions across the country. Approximately 18,800 commercials have competed for over $3.3 million in prizes. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), a non-profit corporation funded by the radio industry, governs the Radio Mercury Awards. The Radio Advertising Bureau produces the Radio Mercury Awards.

Media Contact:

Meghan Buonocore