2020 Radio Mercury Awards Winners Announced
NEW YORK – October 6, 2020 – Winners for the 2020 Radio Mercury Awards were announced virtually this evening at the 29th annual awards event. This year’s winners will serve as a time capsule of work created during the current unusual times. 

“The innovation and creativity that we heard with this year’s winning audio truly impressed the jury,” said Robin Fitzgerald, chief judge and CCO, BBDO Atlanta. “From at-home recording to using bots as talent, these winners showcased what it means to convey a brand’s message in a way that is both storytelling and story-doing.”

“Tonight’s awards presentation reflects the power of radio creative and its ability to deliver for listeners and advertisers,” said Erica Farber, president and CEO, Radio Advertising Bureau, and chair of the Radio Creative Fund. “Despite these unprecedented times, the Radio Mercury Awards winners continued to bring their all to this year’s awards and pushed the medium forward.”

The virtual presentation, produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau and hosted by Farber and Fitzgerald, featured this year’s final round jury, who served as presenters for the awards and included: Gary Du Toit, VP, creative director, BBDO New York; Kevin Jones, creative director, Wieden + Kennedy Portland; Zoe Kessler, creative director, Grey New York; John Matejczyk, co-founder, MUH-TAY-ZIK/HOF-FER San Francisco; Andrés Ordóñez, chief creative officer, FCB Chicago; Alejandro Ortiz, freelance VP and creative director; Sherman Winfield, executive creative director, VMLY&R Atlanta.

Finalists and attendees from across the country celebrated this year’s winners virtually. They included creative, radio and advertising leaders, along with students, families, friends and colleagues. 

Below is the list of the winning spots. To listen to all the work awarded at tonight’s event, click here. For an encore viewing of the event, click here

Best Creative Radio Spot – General Market, Agency/Production Company/Advertiser-Produced

Motel 6 Feet Apart
Motel 6
The Richards Group

Best Creative Radio Spot- General Market, Radio Station/Group-Produced

Disco Colonoscopy
Kansas Medical Clinic
Alpha Media

Best Creative Radio Spot - Nongeneral Market, Agency/Production Company/Advertiser/Radio Station/Radio Group-Produced

Covered California

Best Brand Action Spot

Extra Dedications
Extra Gum, Mars Inc. 
Energy BBDO

Best Spot for a Cause – Agency/Production Company-Produced

Whatever Gets You Talking
Seize the Awkward
The Ad Council and Droga5

Best Spot for a Cause – Radio Station/Group-Produced

Black Voices of Humboldt County #2
In-House PSA
Lost Coast Communications Inc.

Best Use of Humor in a Spot

Daa Tadaa Birthdaaa
Progressive Insurance
Arnold Worldwide

Best DIY Radio Spot
It is Okay
Colorado Broadcasters Association 
Sukle Advertising 

Best Use of Audio

Radio Recliner
Bridge Senior Living 

Best Use of Sound/Music

Pittsburgh Guitars
Garrison Hughes

Best Radio Station/Group Promotional Spot

We Don’t Want To See Your Face
Cumulus Media/KQRS
Cumulus Media

Best Student Radio Script

Careless Whisper
Florida International University and Miami Ad School
Maria Diaz

About the Radio Mercury Awards

The Radio Mercury Awards, the only competition exclusively devoted to radio, was established in 1992 to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative radio commercials. The annual Radio Mercury Awards competition draws entries from advertising agencies, production houses, radio stations and educational institutions across the country. Approximately 20,000 commercials have competed for close to $3.5 million in prizes. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), a nonprofit corporation funded by the radio industry, governs the Radio Mercury Awards. The Radio Advertising Bureau produces the Radio Mercury Awards.

Media Contact:
Madison Wright