DDB Chicago Wins Third $100,000 Radio-Mercury Grand Prize Award, As Several Agencies Debut In The 2004 Winners’ Circle

The Vidal Partnership Snags Their Second Spanish-Language Mercury

Top Creatives Take The Stage To Present Awards
  New York, New York – June 9, 2004 – DDB Chicago scored another $100,000 hit, winning their third Radio-Mercury Grand Prize Award with “Genius/Mr. Way Too Much Cologne Wearer,” a spot developed for the Anheuser-Busch Bud Light brand. Creators of the best Radio commercials were honored today as the Radio industry awarded over $150,000 in cash prizes during the 2004 Radio-Mercury Awards luncheon and ceremony held at the Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in New York City.

John Immesoete and Mark Gross were the Creative Directors on this year’s winning spot, with Immesoete pulling double duty as Writer, and Marianne Newton serving as Producer. This is the third time DDB Chicago captured the top Mercury Prize, having won the Radio creative award in 2000 and 2001 with Radio commercials developed for the same client and brand.

The Vidal Partnership follows their 2003 win of $5,000 in the Spanish-Language Category by garnering that prize again this year for “Gritos,” a Heineken USA/Heineken spot. Javier Fuentes and Francisco Cabrera served as Writers; Mercedes Leonard was the Producer and Mauricio Galvan the Creative Director.

Conversely, this year’s competition also saw several first-time winners. Anson-Stoner (Florida Department of Health/Quitline), Barkley Evergreen & Partners (Sonic Drive-In) and Campbell-Ewald (OnStar) each won their first $5,000 General Category Radio-Mercury Award. The other six General Category Award winners were Crispin Porter + Bogusky (Telluride), last year’s Grand Prize Winning agency DeVito/Verdi (Mount Sinai), Goodby, Silverstein & Partners (Saturn/ION), Lowe, NY (Unilever HPC/Snuggle Sunkissed Breeze), The Richards Group (Motel 6) and Y&R Chicago (Miller/Miller Lite).

The $5,000 Station-Produced Category Winner in 2004 was KHTR/KQQQ, Pullman, WA. Rod Schwartz was Writer, Producer and Creative Director on the spot created for Keeney Bros. Music Center.

Method was the winning agency in the Public Service Announcement (PSA) Category. Mark Hillman served as Creative Director and Writer and shared Producer responsibilities with Allen DiCenzo on the spot created for Stonewall-Columbus. The Radio-Mercury PSA Award includes a $2,500 donation made to the winner’s charity of choice.

Brainco – The Minneapolis School of Design and Interactive Studies won the $2,500 Radio-Mercury Student Award.

The Radio-Mercury Awards honored Bert Berdis with the 2004 Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his enormous impact on Radio advertising creative. An early supporter of the Radio-Mercury Awards, Berdis has been a Radio-Mercury Award winner and finalist, and is President of the company that bears his name, Bert Berdis and Company.

Scheduled presenters included: The 1998 Radio-Mercury Lifetime Achievement Award recipient Keith Reinhard, Chairman, DDB Worldwide; Sal DeVito, Chief Creative Officer, DeVito/Verdi, the 2003 $100,000 Grand Prize winning agency; longtime Radio-Mercury champion and member of the RCF Board, Arthur Bijur, Founding Partner, President and Executive Creative Director, Cliff Freeman & Partners, a two-time Radio-Mercury Grand Prize winning agency; the Chief Judge of this year’s awards, Jamie Barrett, Partner/Creative Director/Copywriter, Goodby, Silverstein & Partners, another two-time Radio-Mercury Grand Prize winning agency; three-time Radio-Mercury Grand Prize Winner John Immesoete, Group Creative Director for DDB Chicago; the 2004 Radio-Mercury Lifetime Achievement Award recipient, Bert Berdis, President, Bert Berdis & Co.; John David, Executive Vice President/Radio, National Association of Broadcasters (NAB); Peggy Conlon, President, The Ad Council; and Gary Fries, President and Chief Executive Officer of the Radio Advertising Bureau and Co-Chairman of the RCF.

Governed by the Radio Creative Fund (RCF), the Radio-Mercury Awards are the richest nationwide competition devoted exclusively to honoring and rewarding Radio creative for excellence in Radio advertising.

The Radio-Mercury Awards were established in 1992 to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative Radio commercials. Approximately 12,000 commercials have competed for over $2.2 million in prizes. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), a non-profit corporation funded by the Radio industry, governs the Radio-Mercury Awards.

2004 Radio-Mercury Award Winners

$100,000 Grand Prize Winner
Genius/Mr. Way Too Much Cologne Wearer
Anheuser-Busch/Bud Light
DDB Chicago
Writer: John Immesoete
Producer: Marianne Newton
Creative Directors: John Immesoete, Mark Gross
Production Co.: Chicago Recording Company

$5,000 General Prize Winners
Florida Department of Health/Quitline
Writer, Producer, Creative Director: Tom Woodward
Production Co.: RedHouse Interactive

French Toast Sticks
Sonic Drive-In
Barkley Evergreen & Partners
Writer: Pat Piper, Matt McKay
Producer: Charlie DeCoursey
Creative Directors: Brad Scott, Greg Nations, Brian Brooker

California Heart Attack
Writer: Maya Mackowiak, Michael O'Connell
Producer: Michelle McAuliffe
Creative Directors: Bill Ludwig, Jim Millis, Nancy Wellinger
Production Co.: Ron Rose

Crispin Porter + Bogusky
Executive Creative Director: Alex Bogusky
Writer: Ronny Northrop
Producer: Bill Meadows
Creative Directors: Alex Bogusky, Bob Cianfrone, Bill Wright
Production Co.: Plus

Mount Sinai
Writers: Wayne Winfield, Brad Emmett
Producers: Barbara Michelson, Joe Barone
Creative Director: Sal DeVito
Production Co.: McHale Barone

Goodby, Silverstein & Partners
Writer: Steve Dildarian
Producer: Michael Damiani
Creative Director: Jamie Barrett
Production Co.: GSP Post

Unilever HPC/Snuggle Sunkissed Breeze
Lowe, New York
Writer: Adam Fels
Producer: John McAdorey
Creative Directors: Gary Goldsmith, Dean Hacohen, Bob Hinden, David Kamisky
Production Co.: McHale Barone

Motel 6
The Richards Group
Writer: Christopher Smith
Producer: Sheri Cartwright
Creative Director: Mike Malone
Production Co.: Bad Animals/Post Op

Unpleasant Side Effects
Miller/Miller Lite
Y&R Chicago
Writer: Tohru Oyasu
Producer: Monica Wilkins
Creative Directors: Dave Loew, Jon Wyville
Production Co.: Chicago Recording Co.

Public Service Announcement Winner
The Gay Son
Stonewall – Columbus
Writer: Mark Hillman
Producers: Mark Hillman, Allen DiCenzo
Creative Director: Mark Hillman
Production Co.: Circa Music

$5,000 Spanish-Language Prize Winner
Heineken USA/Heineken
The Vidal Partnership
Writers: Javier Fuentes, Francisco Cabrera
Producer: Laura Hernandez
Creative Director: Mauricio Galvan
Production Co.: Sound and Vision

$5,000 Radio Station-Produced Prize Winner
Keeney Bros. Music Center
KHTR/KQQQ, Pullman, WA
Writer, Producer, Creative Director: Rod Schwartz

$2,500 Student Winner
Can Karma
Brainco-The Minneapolis School of Design and Interactive Studies

Lifetime Achievement Recipient
Mr. Bert Berdis
President, Bert Berdis and Company


To view in your browser, visit http://www.rab.com/public/pr/pr_detail.cfm?id=238