2014 Radio Mercury Awards Winners Announced
Wieden+Kennedy Wins Best of Show
GEICO Awarded Marketer of the Year

New York, NY - June 4, 2014 -- Winners for the 2014 Radio Mercury Awards were announced this evening at the 23rd annual awards reception at le Poisson Rouge in New York. This year’s $50,000 Best of Show award was given to Wieden+Kennedy for their spot, “MomSong” for Old Spice.  

“MomSong was the clear choice and the most engaging spot we heard,” noted Matt Eastwood, worldwide chief creative officer, JWT and this year's chief judge. “All of this year’s winners deserve to be recognized for their inspiring and exceptionally creative spots and campaigns.”  

“These winning spots and campaigns are true testaments to radio’s ability to engage consumers, build brands and inspire the next generation of creative minds,” said Erica Farber, president and CEO, Radio Advertising Bureau and chair of the Radio Creative Fund. “Our mission is to recognize those storytellers who create an audiophoric world and truly capture our hearts and minds.”

This year’s Marketer of the Year Award was presented to GEICO. Bruce Reese, president and CEO of Hubbard Radio presented this year’s award to Amy Hooks, broadcast marketing manager from GEICO. Erica Farber noted that “their partnership with the radio industry over the past several years to drive key objectives forward by leveraging the medium's strongest equities has truly set GEICO apart. The unique manner in which GEICO localizes their spots and their commitment to initiatives such as the "Something to Be Proud of" vignettes targeting Federal employees are just a few more of the many examples of their effective, strategic, and creative use of the Radio medium.”
Matt Eastwood, JWT and Chief Judge, with Justine Armour, Best of Show Winner W+K, and Erica Farber, President and CEO, Radio Advertising Bureau
Download High Resolution Photo
Hubbard Radio's President and CEO, Bruce Reese, with Marketer of the Year, GEICO's Amy Hooks
Download High Resolution Photo
The lively ceremony was hosted by Eric and Kathy from Hubbard Radio’s 101.9 The Mix in Chicago, and included the following presenters: Jim & Kim from CBS Radio’s Fresh 102.7, Wendy Wild from Clear Channel Media + Entertainment’s WKTU, DJ Enuff from Emmis Communication’s Hot 97, and Ino Gomez from Univision Radio’s WADO 1280 AM. DJ Whutevva from Clear Channel    Media + Entertainment’s Power 105.1 served as the guest DJ for the night.  

In attendance were numerous leaders from the creative and advertising community including the aforementioned Matt Eastwood, DDB NY, Bill Koenigsberg, Kimberly Aiello, Christine Lembo, Melissa Zeoli, Lauren Russo from Horizon Media; Bill Brower, Melissa Halicy, Amy Hooks from GEICO; Brad Higdon, Dean Jarrett, Jackie Davenport from the Martin Agency; Jim Elliott, Y&R NY; Jill Applebaum, JWT NY. Also in attendance were creative teams from the Barbarian Group, Barton F. Graf 9000, BBDO NY, DDB Chicago, DDB NY, Deutsch LA, Kirshenbaum Bond Senecal + Partners, Ogilvy & Mather, Wieden+Kennedy, and Y&R New York.

This year’s event was produced by the Radio Advertising Bureau, presented by Hubbard Radio in partnership with Clear Channel Media + Entertainment, and sponsored by: Beasley Broadcast Group, Bonneville International, Buckley Broadcasting, CBS Radio, Cox Radio Group, The Cromwell Group, Emmis Communications, Entercom Communications, Greater Media, Inc., Hubbard Radio, Katz Radio Group, Lincoln Financial Media, Marketron, Miller Kaplan Arase LLP, MoreFM, Nielsen Audio, Neuhoff Communications, Salem Communications, United Stations Radio Network, Univision Radio and WestwoodOne.

Below is a list of the winning spots. To listen to all of the work awarded at tonight’s ceremony log onto www.radiomercuryawards.com.    

$50,000 Best of Show
Old Spice    

$6,000 Agency/Production Company

$3,000 Agency/Production Company

Deutsch LA

$1,500 Innovative Use of Radio
Endangered song    
Smithsonian’s National Zoo and Conservation Biology Institute    

$3,000 Integrated Radio Campaign
It Can Wait     
BBDO New York

$3,000 Integrated Radio Campaign
New York Lottery    

$3,000 PSA

$6,000 Radio Campaign
I'm Sorry, I Was Eating a Milky Way
Mars, Inc. - Milky Way    
DDB Chicago

$3,000 Radio Campaign
Netflix Holiday Radio    
Deutsch LA

$1,500 Radio Promotion of Year
2013 iHeartRadio Music Festival    
Clear Channel Media + Entertainment

$6,000 Radio Station Produced
Buy Doors Direct    
Clear Channel Creative Services Group

$6,000 Spanish Language Campaign
Wake Up    
JWT San Juan

$3,000 Spanish Language
James Bond Ortega    
Argentina New Cinema    

$1,500 Student
I'm Going to Die    
The Humane Society    
Portfolio Center

About the Radio Mercury Awards

The Radio Mercury Awards, the only competition exclusively devoted to radio, was established in 1992 to encourage and reward the development of effective and creative radio commercials. The annual Radio Mercury Awards competition draws entries from advertising agencies, production houses, radio stations and educational institutions across the country. Approximately 17,500 commercials have competed for over $3.1 million in prizes. The Radio Creative Fund (RCF), a non-profit corporation funded by the radio industry, governs the Radio Mercury Awards.  The Radio Advertising Bureau produces the Radio Mercury Awards.

Media Contact:
Meghan Buonocore

To view in your browser, visit http://www.rab.com/public/pr/pr_detail.cfm?id=606

Radio Mercury Awards | 125 West 55th Street, 21st Floor, New York, NY 10019 | PH: 212-681-7207 | mercury@rab.com